Village Pizza

I had a pretty late lunch today, so I didn’t expect much out of dinner when I returned from work around 8pm. I decided to bake some pumpkin bread, though, and as the hour of baking in the oven slowly passed and the sweet brown buttery smell of pumpkin bread filled my apartment, my hunger started to kick in. With a pantry of dried pasta and canned soups, an empty fridge, and a frost bitten freezer, I knew it was time to start exploring delivery.

I wanted something cheap, and most importantly quick. I couldn’t be tantalized by the wafting smell much longer. Reminiscing about the bite of my dad’s Village Pizza slice during his last trip to New York, I suddenly developed a craving for a classic New York slice and decided to call. Only a $6 minimum? Food will arrive in 10 minutes? Sign me up! I ordered both a mushroom and a cheese slice (simply just to reach the minimum) and a soda. Total came out to $6.25 – what a deal!

I thank my sister for introducing me to Village Pizza. Before she became its number one fan, Village Pizza to me was another dirty, hole in the wall New York pizza imposter. I misjudged based on their seemingly sketchy clientele and their tight quarters. Their slice is actually one of the best cheese pizzas I’ve had – perfectly crispy crust, subtly sweet tomato sauce and salty, gooey fresh mozzarella cheese. Their mushroom slice is made with canned mushrooms, so I’ll most likely rethink my veggie choice in the future. Still, if I’m ever craving a cheese slice like I was tonight, nothing will stop me from calling up my friends at Village.

Grade: A
Address: 65 9th Ave between 13th and Greenwich Street

2 Comments

Filed under Italian, West Village

2 responses to “Village Pizza

  1. Now that's more like it. As you note, my slices were delectable. recommend you explore again with mom and Cathy.

  2. Pumpkin Bread. Village Pizza. Mickey Mouse. I'm famous!

Leave a comment